Application icon

About Activating, Deactivating and Migrating


The standard Yate license is valid for activation on two Macs at a time. This document describes how to activate, deactivate and move your Yate preferences to a new Mac.


Activating

Deactivating

Migrating




Activating

You will automatically be presented with a panel when an instance of Yate has to be activated. This is typically after the trial period has ended. However you can activate at any time when Yate is not activated by doing a Help>Activate. If the Help menu does not have the Activate command it means that you're already activated ... you'll see a Help>Deactivate command.

If you're getting a message stating that This product key has been exhausted. Please contact us it means that you're attempting a third concurrent activation. Typically this means that you did not deactivate a previous installation of Yate or that you did a clean install of the OS. If this happens reach out to us at support@2manyrobots.com with your purchase email address. If you can't remember which email address you used the activation code should suffice.


When activating, you'll see the something similar to the following panel:



Overwrite Panel

Typically you only have to paste in your activation code and hit the Activate button. If for any reason you've deactivated and kept the code, you can leave the field empty and hit Activate. The entered code must contain every character in the code that was emailed to you.

In order for an activation to work you must have network access. If an error message is displayed, please contact us at support@2manyrobots.com with a screenshot of the error message. Please do not simply say the activation did not work ... we need to see the error message.

Under very rare circumstances the activation may fail due to security settings on your network. In this case we can perform an offline activation. Contact us if this is required.



Back to top of page




Deactivating

The standard license only allows for two concurrent activations. There are two scenarios that the license manager cannot handle. You're getting rid of a Mac or you're going to do a clean install of the OS. In both these cases you should deactivate the license first. If you do not, an activation count will be lost and and some point you'll have to reach out for help with your license.

To deactivate select Help>Deactivate and you'll see a panel similar to:



Overwrite Panel

In almost all cases you want to Erase ... especially if you're getting rid of a Mac. The only time you should use Keep is if you're temporarily moving the license to a different Mac.

As with the Activate functionality, you need network access when performing the deactivation.



Back to top of page




Migrating

You've probably spent a lot of time configuring Yate. It is possible to preserve all your preferences and actions when moving to a new Mac. The only thing not preserved is font sizes.

Migrating your preferences is a two step process. In the first step you must perform a Yate>Export Preferences on the old Mac. You'll see a panel similar to:



Overwrite Panel

It's a good idea to hit the All button in case you've ever changed what is being exported in the past. Name the file to be produced and hit Save.

After you've created the file, copy it to the new Mac.

It's best to do the import on the new Mac before you've started using Yate on it. When doing the import you should not have any files loaded or any windows other than the main window open.

If you've been using Yate on the new Mac already and you want the preferences to be an exact copy of what was exported, do a Yate>Reset Preferences before doing the import. The reset is on the new Mac! This ensures that there will not be any extra data in the preferences. For example if your new Mac has an action which was not on the old, it will not be deleted by the import. The reset is an optional step.

To do the import select Yate>Import Preferences. You'll see a panel similar to:



Overwrite Panel

Again, it's a good idea to hit the All key in case you've ever changed what is being imported in the past. Also, make sure that Overwrite is selected. In the file browser portion of the panel select the file that you copied from the old Mac then hit Open.

At this point you'll have imported the preferences from the older Mac. If you are no longer going to use the old Mac, don't forget to deactivate it.



Back to top of page