Welcome Guest

Pages: 1
Hooks?
artelsePostAugust 15, 2016, 18:47
August 15, 2016, 22:20
Normal topicHooks?

Yet another newbie here and testing out Yate. Is there an option to have an action run on certain events like when you load up new files or on save perhaps? Or should we stick with the batch processor to do that?

Anyway, Yate looks great so far, wished I came across this thing years ago to manage 65k files 😉

2MR2PostAugust 15, 2016, 19:33
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicRe: Hooks?

Hmm...not really. The only event that can trigger an action is dragging stuff to the Dock icon. If you've set a Default action, it will run when the drag completes.

Actions can do anything the UI can and far more. As opposed to having an action trigger when files are saved, you can have an action which does everything you want and saves the files. These actions can be written to run in the foreground through the UI or via the Batch Processor.

As an example I have a 'new album' action which configures all the metadata, capitalization, etc. the way I like it. It runs some sanity checks to make sure the metadata is consistent and is not missing. It also adds the album to track, album and artist databases, moves the files to my NAS drive, adds the files to iTunes and tells my Sonos system to update its library.

In v3.14 you can even have action buttons on custom panels and actions can test the state of the Modifier keys which enable some pretty funky workflows.

artelsePostAugust 16, 2016, 07:19
August 15, 2016, 22:20

Ah, I couldn't get the Default action to work, it only triggers on Dock icon drag.. Would it be an idea to also have the ability to trigger on a drag from the file browser to the main window?
Your workflow is something I am working towards, do you have this all compiled into one action or do you split it up in reusable modules? Ok, am obviously on the learning curve 😉

2MR2PostAugust 16, 2016, 08:10
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27