Welcome Guest

Pages: 1
Artist/Album/# track name action?
sjkissPostJune 6, 2017, 10:47
April 25, 2017, 17:32
Normal topicArtist/Album/# track name action?

Hi there: I am brand new to Yate but really like it. How do I modify the file and folder action so that files are placed into a a folder that reads /Artist/Album/# Track name?
Currently, the default is creating folders that read /Artist/Artist-Album/# Track Name

Thank you.

2MR2PostJune 6, 2017, 10:54
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicRe: Artist/Album/# track name action?

What action are you currently using? There is no default 🙂

There are lots of ways to do this. I'd like to know what you're using as I assume the 'Artist' folder is being placed in the correct location.

sjkissPostJune 6, 2017, 13:22

OK, I'm going into "Manage Actions" and I've opened up the move function. I've specified the path as : /Volumes/Multimedia/Music/Artist/Album

But, instead of treating "Artist" as like a flag or a variable and taking the Artist name as a folder name, it is moving it to teh folder "Artist/Album/ filename.

2MR2PostJune 6, 2017, 14:22
Administrator

If you opened a Move function you got it from somewhere. You either wrote it or downloaded it. There is no built in action called "move".

Let's go about this differently. You want your folder structure to be:

/Artist/Album/# Title

Questions:

1) Do you really want 'Artist' or do you want 'Album Artist'? 'Album Artist' fill fall back to 'Artist' if it is empty. Also using 'Artist' will split up compilations into separate folders, which I personally hate.
2) Do you want the tracks moved relative to where there are or is there a fixed path preceding the Artist?
3) Do you want to move non audio files with the tracks? (again 'Album Artist' recommended)
4) Do you want to delete any folders that become empty?

If you always want the tracks offset off a fixed path, let me know.
eg. /....../path/Artist/Album/# Title.
I need to know what "/....../path" is