Welcome Guest

Pages: 1 2
Can Yate assist with (near) Global edit fail in iTunes?
alex_siskPostJuly 10, 2017, 01:03
June 24, 2017, 22:53
Normal topicCan Yate assist with (near) Global edit fail in iTunes?

Hi folks,

Long, but please read - it's all relevant.

I'm relatively new to Yate, but I've been using it now for about 3 weeks enhancing what was already a fairly well organized iTunes library, and it's been great.

Just moments ago, I made a big mistake while editing metadata in iTunes directly. I was editing in iTunes because it only format-based edits, and only an [intended for] EP of 5 tracks. I was going for a shift selection from the top to bottom of the 5 tracks. This particular artist is in the Z's. I didn't realize that I had unwittingly selected all the way from A to the end of the EP I was working on.

I clicked stop quickly on the iTunes operation. It had edited about 300 tracks out of 5,257 - so it could definitely be worse.

Fields affected were Artist, Album, Album Artist, Genre, and Total Track Count. Song Name and Album Art makes it possible to identify individually, but this will take absolutely forever.

I set the Album Artist and Album temporarily to "MUSTFIX" to keep them grouped, then pulled them into Yate. I was able to recover *some* data by selecting the tracks ---> right-click ----> AcoustID ----> Fingerprint, Get Data, Import IDs ----> Match Tracks to Possibly Multiple Releases.

Unattended Metadata Lookups bombs every time I try it. Again, I just started using Yate, and I'm sure that there is scripting that could be done, or some other set of Actions with the right preferences, but I've just been going album by album pulling in data because. I don't know which of the tracks involved have already been fully tagged - probably the ones that AcoustID pulled in data on I'm guessing.

Any suggestions on a way to use Yate to help with my situation?