Welcome Guest

Pages: 1
Batch edit UDTIs
DJMUKPostMarch 20, 2020, 13:05
March 20, 2020, 16:38
Normal topicBatch edit UDTIs

I am new to Yate and up until now I have only used Yate for simple edits. I have read the help documents but have been unable to find an answer to the following and hope you can help?

I need to be able to bulk change a UDTI field, preferably using the functions in the multi field editor. The changes should only be made to records containing a specific value in a second UDTI. There are about 50,000 tracks to process.

It seems the best way is to load all the tracks and then use the Filter function to choose only those which meet the criteria mentioned above.

Then use the Multi Field Editor to make the required changes.

However, whilst in both the Filter Function and the Multi Field Editor I can see all the standard fields I can't see a way of choosing a particular UDTI field.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks.

2MR2PostMarch 20, 2020, 13:15
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicRe: Batch edit UDTIs

Loading all the tracks is the worst way to do it. The memory requirement will be extreme.

The Batch Processor is designed to do this efficiently. This has to be done using an action. If you're not familiar with writing actions I can help. Send me information describing what you're testing and what you want done. It should only take a few minutes to generate the action. You can reply here or send an email to support@2manyrobots.com

DJMUKPostMarch 20, 2020, 16:17

Thank you so much for your offer to help write an action for me. I have never done this and having an example would be a good way to start learning.

So I have a music collection of 50k+ tracks (all FLAC files) the great majority of these are CD rips together with some LP and Cassette rips, and HD downloads.

I like to have a reference to the source from which the tracks came and in the case of CD's a number pointing me to the physically stored CD.