Welcome Guest

Pages: 1
Action for filling Genre+Grouping fields with information from Discogs?
SunsongsPostDecember 25, 2014, 13:31
December 25, 2014, 17:56
Normal topicAction for filling Genre+Grouping fields with information from Discogs?

Hello, sorry if this is a really obvious question; I'm still very new to Yate, and don't know where to start. I know what I want to ask Yate to do, which is the following:

1. Link all albums to their Discogs profiles.
2. Delete all existing information in the "Genre" field of each song.
3. Delete all existing information in the "Grouping" field of each song.
4. Fill the "Genre" field of every song on each album with what Discogs lists as the "Genre" of that album.
5. Fill the "Grouping" field of every song on each album with what Discogs lists as the "Style" of that album.

For example, if my library includes the following album:

http://www.discogs.com/Cocteau-Twins-Garlands/release/929654

I'd want Yate to genre-tag each song in the album with "Rock", and grouping-tag each song with "Ethereal".

Or, if my library includes the following album:

http://www.discogs.com/%D0%9D%D0%B0%D1%83%D1%82%D0%B8%D0%BB%D1%83%D1%81-%D0%9F%D0%BE%D0%BC%D0%BF%D0%B8%D0%BB%D0%B8%D1%83%D1%81-%D0%A0%D0%B0%D0%B7%D0%BB%D1%83%D0%BA%D0%B0/master/16486

I'd want Yate to genre-tag each song in the album with "Rock" and grouping-tag each song with "Alternative Rock, New Wave".

I don't know how to do this, though. Is Yate capable of completing this sort of automated multi-step Discogs operation, first of all? If so, what would I need to assemble in order to ask it to do so? Thanks for your time.

2MR2PostDecember 26, 2014, 10:43
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicRe: Action for filling Genre+Grouping fields with information from Discogs?

Not obvious but it is easily doable 🙂