Welcome Guest

Pages: 1 2
Discogs Workflow
coldjimPostJune 5, 2020, 14:40
June 5, 2020, 17:00
Normal topicDiscogs Workflow

Hey,

I am new to the app. This maybe a really simple workflow, but I just can't work it out (there seems like you can do so much with this!).

I have been doing everything manually for a while, but i want to automate it.
I want to:
1. search my tracks on discogs (its mainly dance music)
2. copy catalogID to Comments
3. copy Label to Grouping (i know this will go to Work, I will have to manully copy this in Itunes)
4. Copy mood to genre (since most just says Electronic, rather than House etc)
5. Copy Artist to composer (if there are no other producers credited to the track)

Then once it has done this, then add it to Itunes/Apple Music as its now called in Catalina.

How would I do all this?
I would like it to grab the Artwork from Discogs too.

Cheers,
Jake

2MR2PostJune 5, 2020, 15:11
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicRe: Discogs Workflow

Everything sounds easy except for #1. If you already have the DIscogs IDs stored it's trivial.

#1. If your folder structure contains a single album per folder you could use the Access Discogs statement with the Master Matching option to attempt to do a non visual search for the album. If found and a correct match is made, again the rest becomes trivial. Alternately you could fingerprint the files and do a lookup on MusicBrainz and see if they have a Discogs reference. Acoustic fingerprints are not perfect and MusicBrainz my not even have your dance music in their library. ..... or you could search DIscogs manually and then automatically run an action to do the rest when you import.

#2. trivial

#3. Not necessary to copy anything. You can configure Yate to handle Grouping in the same manner as iTunes/Music in which case Grouping can be directly set without touching the Work Name.

#4. Trivial

#5. Trivial

#5.1 Add to Music. Easy.

#6. If #1 is resolved, it's easy.