Welcome Guest

Pages: 1
Basic steps in renaming files and tagging
yate_newbiePostAugust 16, 2020, 10:10
August 16, 2020, 13:40
Normal topicBasic steps in renaming files and tagging

Hi there,

I'm new to Yate. I noticed that it is very powerful but I'm struggling with the basic steps in editing files and tags.
This is my case:
I would like to rename files that comes with names like that in the example and write the new filename as a title in a tag.

Rename file: Apparently-Lo72dFOKXSw.m4a > Apparently.m4a via regex like (?:-.*)
Copy filename as title to a Tag.

At least I would like to use this action over and over again with a droplet.

Is there an easy way to do that in Yate?

Cheers.

2MR2PostAugust 16, 2020, 10:30
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicRe: Basic steps in renaming files and tagging

As I'm looking at a web generated copy of your post ... I can't tell for sure .... is the 'garbage' text everything following the last dash (-) in the filename? Please confirm.

If I understand correctly you want the file renamed and the new filename should also overwrite the Title field. If nothing is changed in a filename do you still want to overwrite the Title field? Please confirm.

yate_newbiePostAugust 16, 2020, 11:09

Hi 2MR2,
yes, it's some kind of garbarge after each title I've got in every filename. I would like to get rid of that part. At the moment I use „Better rename“ for that but I'm sure it's also possible with Yate. In ideal I would like to build a short workflow/droplet that renames a filename and put the new filename (without the garbarge part) as a title in the M4A Tags. I'm sure that's easy but at the moment I'm stuck in the overwhelming concept of Yate.

2MR2PostAugust 16, 2020, 11:21
Administrator

Hi,

The filenames look what you get when a filesystem has been updated from a shorter filename representation to something which supports a decent length.