Welcome Guest

Pages: 1
Create a New Lyric Screen Shot 2021-03-24 at 1.19.04 AM.png
tnayakPostMarch 24, 2021, 01:24
Newbie
Posts: 14
Registered:
September 25, 2019, 23:56
Normal topicCreate a New Lyric Screen Shot 2021-03-24 at 1.19.04 AM.png

Is it possible to use an Action to create a New Lyric? The Context menu in the Lyrics(All) Panel allows you to create a "New Lyric" but i can't figure out how to do it with an action.

I want to search for better versions of the Lyrics attached to my tracks and be able to compare them to the current Lyrics to see which one is more accurate.
Image

2MR2PostMarch 24, 2021, 06:30
Avatar photo
Administrator
Posts: 2084
Registered:
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicCreate a New Lyric Screen Shot 2021-03-24 at 1.19.04 AM.png

You can create a new Lyrics item via the User Defined Fields statement in the Assignments category. Remember that the new Get Lyrics implementation will only write to the default lyrics item. This means that you'll have to preserve the old one before downloading a new.

Multiple Lyrics items are an ID3 thing. You don't have to use a lyrics item for this. You can copy the lyrics to a UDTI then have a custom edit panel displaying both copies... one in the real lyrics field and one in the UDTI.

tnayakPostMarch 25, 2021, 13:01
Newbie
Posts: 14
Registered:
September 25, 2019, 23:56
Normal topicCreate a New Lyric Screen Shot 2021-03-24 at 1.19.04 AM.png

Is there a way to create the Lyrics copy without making the Default lyrics? I created the following action to create a copy the current lyrics and search for new ones, but am not getting the results that I expected - namely the "Original" description that I used to create the copy ends up being the description for the new lyrics.

ACTION
1) Run Inline action 'Search for Lyrics on Happi.dev' grouped
Run Grouped
Run Inline

2) Start Search for Lyrics on Happi.dev

3) Copy the Lyrics field if not empty to Variable 0

4) Import value of Lyric with name 'Original' from Variable 0 (create)

5) Get Lyrics using default settings, silent

Below is the info from the LyricsThe Action create a 2nd set of Lyrics (all) Edit Panel before and after running the action. I expected the Description for the Test Lyrics to be "Original" and the Default Lyrics (new search results) to be empty.

Lyrics Edit Panel - BEFORE Running the Action
Description Language Lyrics
★ <empty> eng Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎

Lyrics Edit Panel - AFTER Running the Action
Description Language Lyrics
⚫ <empty> eng Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎
★ Original Actual Lyrics

I inserted a Debug statement between Lines 4 & 5 and cancelled execution w/o running the Get Lyrics action. It looks like the issue is caused by the Lyrics-copy being set to default (per your reminder that that Get Lyrics only writes to the default lyrics item).

Lyrics Edit Panel - AFTER Running the Action
Description Language Lyrics
⚫ <empty> eng Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎
★ Original Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎Test Lyrics⏎

2MR2PostMarch 25, 2021, 14:02
Avatar photo
Administrator
Posts: 2084
Registered:
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Normal topicCreate a New Lyric Screen Shot 2021-03-24 at 1.19.04 AM.png

Hi ... it's just too difficult to see what is going on in a test representation. Please go to the Action Manager and select the outermost action which is called. From the context menu do an Export. You can ignore the first displayed panel. Choose to export as a zip file and email us the file. That way I can see what is going on.

tnayakPostMarch 25, 2021, 19:06
Newbie
Posts: 14
Registered:
September 25, 2019, 23:56
Normal topicCreate a New Lyric Screen Shot 2021-03-24 at 1.19.04 AM.png

I got it to work by restructuring the action - details below in hopes that it helps someone else.

'Run each step in sequence for each selected track
Run Inline action 'Search for Lyrics on Happi.dev' grouped

'Start the action
Start Search for Lyrics on Happi.dev

'Store the starting lyrics in Variable 0
Copy the Lyrics field if not empty to Variable 0

'Call the Get Lyrics process WITHOUT displaying alerts
Get Lyrics using default settings, silent

'Store the Get Lyrics Status Code in Variable 1
Export the value of User Defined Text Item with nam 'Get Lyrics Status' to Variable 1

'Check if the Get Lyrics process completed successfully
if true
'Verify that Variable 0, containing the starting lyrics, is NOT empty
Test if the Variable 0 field is not empty

if true
'Create a new Lyric with the name 'Starting Lyrics'
Import value of Lyric with name 'Starting Lyrics' from Variable 0 (create)

OR

'Set the UDTI with the name 'Starting Lyrics'
Set the Starting Lyrics field to "\v0"

end if
end if

'Save the changes
Save the selected files if modified

Thanks for the suggestion about storing the starting lyrics in a UDTI and building a custom panel. Viewing the lyrics side-by-side makes it easy to pick the best one.

Pages: 1
Mingle Forum by Cartpauj | Version: 1.1.0beta | Page loaded in: 0.019 seconds.