Welcome Guest

Pages: 1 2 3
Request: import titles from text file
ratmicePostMay 31, 2015, 08:44
Beginner
December 23, 2014, 21:35
Hot topicRequest: import titles from text file

So, Im new to YATE and like it very much. My main use is for tagging a large collection of live recordings. These recordings do not typically come with properly named files, or properly tagged. They do , however, usually come with a text file that contains the set list.

If there were a feature that would allow importing of filenames from a text file this would certainly make the tagging process tons easier. I have used software previously that had this capability. It would import titles, one line at a time, from a list (a text entry box that was temporarily saved). With a little cut/paste and editing, you could rename files in a flash. This would be a great help. Maybe, some kind of "import titles from selection could be used too.

2MR2PostMay 31, 2015, 10:18
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27
Hot topicRe: Request: import titles from text file

Yate can read, write and parse any text file.

I've taken you literally and posted an action here:

http://2manyrobots.com/actions/ImportTitlesFromTextFile.zip

It's a little overkill but what the heck. Unzip the file and drag the 'Import Titles from Test File.plist' file to Yate's main window file list area. You should then have an action named: Import Titles from Test File

The action prompts for a text file, removes all blank lines from the content and applies the titles to the selected files (in the order listed in the main window). The action validates that the number of contained titles is the same as the number of selected files. I'm assuming that the file selection lists the files in the correct order. You can always drag and drop them to change the order. Note that the action does not save the files so you're not committed. You can always revert the changes if you're not happy.