Welcome Guest

Pages: 1 2 3
Using Track Names & Numbers to generate file names
SnowdogPostMarch 15, 2022, 15:22
Pro
March 15, 2022, 17:12
Very Hot topicUsing Track Names & Numbers to generate file names

Hi all. My first post so here's a quick background...

I've been using Amvidia's "Tag Editor" for a few years now, but it doesn't show me all the "user defined" tags that I can see in Yate.

I often find that a particular tag "ALBUMARTIST2" seems to invent itself in FLAC files. I say "invent itself" because yes, it may be user defined, but I certainly didn't put it there!

What this tag seems to do is turn the desired "Album Artist" entry, let's say "BBC Legends", into a sort of combo entry like "BBC Legends/Sir John Barbirolli" which is comprised of the Album Artist I entered followed by the ALBUMARTIST2 entry (which seems to be pretty random).

This is how it then displays in Roon which messes up the sort order of things.

I can never see these other tags in Tag Editor & previously could only see it & delete it after I'd converted my lossless master files into AAC files for iTunes, at which point they became Mac compatible, & then I could use "edit tags in dbPoweramp" to see & delete all the spurious tags I didn't create & don't want.

Now I've discovered Yate, I can see all these tags straight off the bat in FLAC & clean out all the crap, which fantastic.

Which brings me to my question.

One thing I can't seem to do in Yate, but which is easy in Tag Editor, is to overwrite my file names with a new file name made from the track title & the track number.

This means that where the metadata is easy to find & update, if my file names are, say, "Track 01, Track 02, etc." I would still go into Tag Editor to do that. (I've attached screenshots to show the process in Tag Editor.)

No big deal, but I just wondered if this is somehow possible in Yate & I just can't see it?

Thanks.

2MR2PostMarch 15, 2022, 15:38
Administrator
August 23, 2012, 19:27